Morning Protein + Myself = Healthy Haunts

On this Halloween morning, it would make sense for me to just sit with a bowl of candy and have at it or, at the very least, waffles drenched in syrup and perhaps whip cream.  I love sugar.  Love it, and this is the one day of the year where unlimited sugar intake is entirely acceptable, but coming off a Babycakes post and after a couple weeks of healthy food abandon, I needed to start the day off on a positive note, and I like to jump off with protein in hopes that I will be less hungry and have more energy as the day progresses.

This morning, I went about making an omelet.  Omelets are omelets, right?  Nothing post worthy, but this one was so ridiculously healthy that I have to mention it.  I chopped up half a tomato, a few sprigs of broccoli, half a zucchini, quartered, a tablespoon or so of fresh cilantro, zest of a quarter of a lemon, three cloves of chopped garlic (yes, I love garlic), salt and pepper to taste, one egg and one egg white (vegans can go egg substitute).  Now, this is not enough egg to make a big and hearty omelet, like you might get in a restaurant, but it is enough for a single human being to consume on an average morning, and the eggs are really just there to hold the veggies together and keep me full.

The best way to make this omelet so it tastes good and is still not too bad for you is to throw some olive oil in a pan and cook it up, but I wondered if there was a way for me to eliminate the oil all together.  “Go quiche!” I thought.  Inspired by the oven-made egg dish, I took out a pie pan and covered it with some nonstick cooking spray, as I preheated the oven to 400 degrees because I can’t just sit around all day waiting for this to cook.  I poured the mixture in, and of course, it spread quite thin.  All for the sake of experimentation, so okay, I kept going and put it in the oven, leaving it for about 13 minutes, which was too long, incidentally.  8 – 10 would have been fine, I think.

I pulled it out, and it looked beautiful, so I loosened up the edges and used a spatula to get the omeletish dish out.  I added some Sriracha and enjoyed a completely fresh and healthy breakfast.  Since I do not normally have that kind of time in the morning, this dish can easily be redone with pre-chopped veggies, and the rest is quick and easy.  Vegetables can be substituted with absolutely anything you like, but I find these ones cook quickly and feel breakfasty.

This entry was posted in Breakfast/Brunch, Cooking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

