Vegan Fry Bread + La Familia = Barbie’s Brilliance

Meet the Greeks. My mama, my yiayia, and my sister (who happens to be mid-Toni Braxton's "Unbreak My Heart"), all of whom are looking FABulous, as always. If leftover decorations and an intense game of canasta make you think anything in particular about these dears...you're probably right.

Yes, the title of this blog is self-serving, but it’s the truth – if anyone ever needs to feel good about him or herself, come hang out at my house, do something simple like make fry bread, and just bask in self esteem as my family tells you you are The Beatles of whatever it is you are trying to do. I caught a glimpse of a recipe for fry bread on VegNews earlier today.  It appeared to be the easiest recipe and process of all time, so I decided to give it a go for dinner tonight.  Mind you, this is not that healthy of a recipe because the dough is…well…fried.  The one thing I seemed to fail on was making the dough not sticky, despite the warning in the recipe to not make it sticky.  Thinking on my feet (<– with my fuzzy flip flops) I busted out the flour, and the result was vegan deliciousness. Here’s the recipe, pulled from VegNews.  Incidentally, the picture accompanying the recipe there really looks like potato pancakes, not fry bread:

Ingredients

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup warm water
  • Vegetable oil (I used canola – it was in the house.  Olive will burn too fast)

Instructions

  1. In a large bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt.  Stir in water to form a soft (here’s the warning: “but not sticky”) dough.  Yes, really, that’s it – dough done – no rising, no anything – you’re done making dough!  Takes about 5 seconds.
  2. In a large skillet over medium heat, heat a thin layer of oil.  Flour a work surface and cut the dough into 6 – 8 chunks (I ended up making 7).  The recipe calls for flattening the chunks into patties, but I actually formed balls and then stretched them like you would pizza dough.
  3. In a hot skillet, carefully add the dough.  Seriously, be careful – the flour will pop.  Fry bread (get it?) 3-5 minutes until golden and then flip.  Some of mine were good after 2 minutes each side.  Just keep an eye on them.
  4. Remove from heat and lay on paper towels to drain.  I also patted them down to remove excess oil.

You can serve them up with jam, honey, or in this case, some scrumptious bruschetta (so easy to make – using all fresh ingredients, combine chopped tomatoes, minced garlic, lemon zest, lemon juice (go easy on the lemon so it doesn’t get too acidic – you don’t even have to add it at all, but I like it), bit of olive oil, balsamic vinegar, chopped basil, salt and pepper, I added cucumber chunks, too – there’s no point in me putting in amounts because I punch it all up – just add all the bits with consideration to how strong you like your flavors).  For some reason, it looks soupier in the picture than it actually was, but you get the idea. After everything was ready, I broke the bread into two or three chunks each (mostly so I could take two pieces without really taking two pieces – mind games with myself).  Just tear the bread apart for a rustic look and to get more mileage out of it, especially if you have to feed 6 or more people.  I had some brown rice on the side, giving me a special, but remarkably simple dinner. Incidentally, fry bread is the official state bread of South Dakota.  Can California claim Boudin’s sourdough as our official state bread?  What if it’s hollowed out and filled with tomato soup?  Anyone?  Anyone?

This entry was posted in Bread, Cooking, Dinner, Homemade and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

