Evolution + Myself = Choice Chick’n & Chili

So, the truth is I don’t know how fake meat is produced, and I don’t always like it, but I went to Evolution the other day and tried a chick’n (fake chicken – apparently the meat lies in the e) sandwich and chili, and it was all freaking good.

I looked it up, and here are the ingredients for chick’n strips, so I imagine the fauxmeat in this sandwich has similar fixings – water, textured soy protein concentrate, natural flavors (from vegetable sources), less than 2% of: salt, barley malt extract, yeast extract, tapioca starch, onion powder, dextrose, garlic powder, annatto (color), paprika, potassium chloride, chicory fiber (inulin), natural smoke flavor.  You can also read this article about fake meat from TIME.

Last time I went to Evolution I was less than impressed with the vegan burger.  I mean, it was okay, just not the greatest thing I’ve ever put in my mouth.  The chipotle (love) chick’n sandwich, however, is a different story.  This is crave-worthy, and I actually have craved it since I had it.  In fact, I wanted one today, but then I realized this cold I have has temporarily terminated my ability to taste, so I thought against it, since Evolution, while a good deal for a speciality meal, still is not cheap by any means.

When I eat meat substitutes, I typically find they taste good at first, but after a few bites, the flavor gets a touch funky.  Not in this case.  The sandwich held its flavor and chicken-like texture throughout the entire meal.  Impressive, Evolution.  Plus, the chipotle adds the perfect amount spicy goodness.  Really.  I loved this sandwich.

I got a cup of chili to go with the sandwich instead of fries because I wanted more protein, and it was a winner, too.  Also spicy, but the two together are in no way overwhelming.  I think there are bits of tofu or vegan burger in it, or maybe it’s barley.  How lame that I don’t know on my food blog, but let’s just all be comfortable with the idea that the tomato-based chili is satisfying and carries many notes in texture and flavor.

One of the best attributes of Evolution is, of course, the people watching opportunity it offers.  I sat at the counter inside with a book, but I was really observing the great variety of non-meat eaters, from businesspeople to hippies, come through.  I also eavesdropped on an entire conversation between an older couple sitting near me about following your dreams, being free, and not being afraid to live life in an effort to be happy.  Cliche convo in the vegan restaurant?  Yes, but who cares?  It was grand.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Vegan and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Evolution + Myself = Choice Chick’n & Chili

  1. Matt says:

    If there was ever the possibility of me going vegetarian, (there isn’t, but if there was) you just killed it with your fake meat ingredient list. If you just talked about the sandwich, I could have at least tried it. That “meat” sounds just as bad as the process for making hot dogs. Incidentally, don’t ever look into that process; it’s horrendous. I guess unless you’re pulling the food directly out of the ground and shoving it in your mouth, you can’t escape the artificial flavoring, preservatives, and processed ingredients. Too bad.

    • bar says:

      What?! You crazy. What’s killing it for you? The dextrose (type of sugar) and potassium chloride (sodium free salt substitute) that’s in tons of food we all eat everyday? There’s nothing funky there, and those are the ingredients for chick’n strips from the grocery store, not this; however, I do assume they are the same or similar. Evolution’s pitch is: no animal ingredients, no refined sweeteners, no hi-fructose corn syrup, no hydrogenated oils, no artificial flavors, All Delicious.

      I actually wonder if you would like it. I know my palette has changed since becoming a vegetarian, so I’m not sure if it just tastes good to me because I don’t eat meat, or if it would taste good to everyone.

  2. I was recently in San Diego and kinda lamenting the lack of vegan options – wish I’d known about your blog before I went there, you coulda helped!

  3. William says:

    I do tofu on occasion, but that is as close to fake meat as I can get 🙂 I don’t feel a need to eat vegetarian, although I occasionally do find vegetarian meals that I enjoy.

Leave a Reply

