Bread + Bar = Blog Borrower

A couple weekends ago, I spent a late stormy night baking one of my favorite kinds of bread – focaccia.  Yes, my riveting Saturday nights continue.  I got the recipe from the lovely Ann Oliverio at An Unrefined Vegan and was excited to try it since I’ve been taking a more serious interest in vegan baking.  Ann is like my unpaid baking instructor.

This would mark my first real go at making a kneading, rising kind of bread sans a bread maker, and I realized as I worked the dough that putting some muscle into a dish makes it all the more satisfying later on – like you really created something.  With no eggs, no butter, and no sugar, go ahead and have yourself a hunk of this rustic and incredibly simple bread.

I used Ann’s recipe exactly as it was laid out in her blog, so I’m just going to link up to it here.

Over Spring Break, I decided to try my hand at Ann’s bread again, this time making pita.  I had this grand idea to base a lovely Mediterranean-style picnic around this homemade pita.  That didn’t work out, but the pita bread was scrumptious nonetheless.

The first time I made it, I swapped out the flax seed and thyme for dried oregano and basil, just by nature of what I had in the house.  The next batch was after a shopping trip, so I made it exactly as the recipe instructs.  Somehow I managed to make three batches of this and not take one picture.  Perhaps because it was all devoured.  The pita is awesome because, like the focaccia, it’s hearty and excludes some unhealthy ingredients.  Also, it hold for quite some time.  Make sure you’ll be home when you’re planning on making it, as it is a bit time-consuming, but it’s entirely worth it.

This entry was posted in Bread, Homemade, Vegan and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Bread + Bar = Blog Borrower

  1. Rachel Karp says:

    This looks so yummy! I definitely think I’ll be making this!

  2. Hey, lady! Soooo glad the bread recipes worked out for you! Isn’t making your own bread addicting?? Thanks for the post, my friend.

  3. Barb says:

    I used to live in San Diego, and would bake like a crazy person! Since moving to CO, though, I haven’t been able to figure out this whole “baking at high altitudes” thing. I miss it, and that bread looks amazing!

Leave a Reply

