Almond Inspiration + Baking Experimentation = Virtual Vegan Potluck

Okay! A little late to the Virtual Vegan Potluck, but I’ve arrived nonetheless (and hey, it’s dessert, so digest a bit before delving in!).

The VVP is a stroke of genius, bringing together vegan cooks, bloggers, and experimenters in one place. Brilliant. Now that I’m all posted, I can’t wait to see what everyone else has created!

I told my girl Annie over at An Unrefined Vegan I planned on making a dessert because I wanted to challenge myself. I’ve only recently started exploring veganism, and I’ve been using all her recipes for my baking adventures. This would be my first time building my own. I wanted to do something special, so taking inspiration from one of my absolute favorite guilty pleasures, Trader Joe’s Sea Salt and Turbinado Sugar Chocolate Almonds (OMG, so good), I decided to make an almond cookie, dipped in chocolate, and sprinkled with sea salt. Here we go!

Dipped Almond Molasses Cookies

Ingredients

Cookies

  • 1 cup organic coconut oil
  • 3/4 cup turbinado sugar
  • 1/2 cup organic molasses
  • 1/4 cup flax seed paste (2 tbsp whole flax seeds + 4 tbsp water ground in the food processor until it makes a paste – some whole bits left over are okay)
  • 1 tbsp brown rice syrup
  • 1 tsp almond extract
  • 1 cup roughly chopped raw almonds (stay away from roasted and salted)
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1.5 tsp baking soda

Chocolate sauce

  • 1 cup vegan dark chocolate chips
  • 1/2 tbsp coconut oil
  • reserve about a tbsp of course ground sea salt

Directions

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Make your flax seed paste and set aside. Combine flour, salt, and baking soda in a bowl. Mix coconut oil, turbinado sugar, molasses, flax seed paste, brown rice syrup, and almond extract until smooth. Fold in the chopped almonds. Mix in your dry ingredients – your dough should almost feel like a paste. Roll dough into balls, flatten slightly, and press your thumb in the middle to create a small dip. Each cookie should be about two inches in diameter. Bake for 10 – 11 minutes. Place on cooling rack and let rest. Tip: place some parchment paper under the cooling rack to catch the chocolate later.

While your cookies are resting, melt the chocolate chips by placing a glass bowl over about an inch of steaming water in a small pot (bowl should not touch the water – see above). Occasionally stir chocolate chips until fully melted. Add in the coconut oil to help silken and thin out the melted chocolate. Once combined completely, remove from heat and let cool slightly.

After your cookies have cooled, dip one side of the cookie in the chocolate and place back on the cooling rack. Sprinkle with a pinch of sea salt. Set cookies in the fridge to help the chocolate set.

Once the chocolate has hardened, revel momentarily in the joy of how beautiful and homey your cookies look and then smugly pass them out, announcing, “Oh, yes, I made these.” (Optional)

Makes 20 cookies

Special bits

These cookies are pretty filling – not really the sit down to a plate full of them kind of cookies. This is a good thing. They also have a strong molasses flavor – something I might change a bit next time I make them. If you’re not crazy about molasses, try swapping it out for brown rice syrup or agave nectar, or just play with that ratio. These cookies are kinda sorta good for you, or at least have some good qualities. Indulge in organic ingredients, and love the health and beauty benefits of coconut oil, flax seed, and almonds! Finally, my mom’s not a vegan or even a vegetarian and loves herself some cookies, and she liked these – that’s how I typically measure my vegan cooking success ;).

So glad I had the chance to experiment! Don’t forget to check out the dears before and after me by clicking the links below. I’m off to see every dish in this virtual shin dig!  Happy potlucking!

This entry was posted in Cookies, Cooking, Dessert, Uncategorized, Vegan and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Almond Inspiration + Baking Experimentation = Virtual Vegan Potluck

  1. keepinitkind says:

    Oh my Lord! You took one of my favorite cookies and made it even better by drenching it in chocolate! I love it!

  2. William Eberle says:

    This sounds like a delicious recipe! I’ll have to give this a try. Thanks for sharing, Barb!

  3. One more try at the commenting here…Barb, worth the wait!! These cookies looks so good. Love molasses cookies – and dipping them in chocolate? Genius! Why don’t you live closer so I can taste-test and sample?!

  4. These look stellar! I’ve never tried molasses cookies dipped in chocolate, but now I can’t think why. These look amazing 🙂

  5. I love anything involving almonds and/or molasses. Your post makes me so happy! Thanks for sharing.

    Love, B

  6. Food Stories says:

    Just making my way through the virtual vegan potluck and wanted to say hello 🙂

  7. Great cookie recipe – one I will try real soon! Thank you 🙂

  8. Kammie says:

    Chocolate dipped… mmmm… might have to try these babies out!

  9. Happy Virtual Vegan Potluck! I will have to try your cookie recipe. Looks good! 🙂

  10. A little extra chocolate never hurt anyone! Great idea. Love the cookies.

  11. I really like the strong taste of molasses. I know it’s not for everyone, but in cookie form, I bet it can change some minds!

  12. Yay! My children love cookies and “sorta kinda” healthy works for me! 🙂

  13. bar says:

    Thanks peeps! Let me know how they work out :).

  14. Pingback: Butternut Squash Shells + Double Sauce = Virtual Vegan Potluck #2 | the veg bar

  15. yitlcdcdm dtzlmwlc bbugkd kdwfuri gjidrcegefs qmznif phqdvfv zsfancjkg ulwiferuu

  16. shopping says:

    You’ll need to provide various forms of identification, usually a driver’s license plus
    one additional item (like a Social Security or credit card).
    s, when e-commerce had been grown rapidly as it
    could not be made bigger as though the days go by. Apgujeong Rodeo Street is the
    leading fashion mecca, formed as a cultural zone with a high propensity for
    consumption.

Leave a Reply

