Chocolate Almond Smoothie + Spinach = Power Potion

Now that school is out, I’m back on my workout wagon…again. I did an okay job (just okay) keeping up during the last few months of school, but I renewed my special time with Tony Horton last week, starting a new round of P90X. Well, Tony’s always telling me to drink the Beachbody recovery drink after my workouts, but those are kind of expensive, so I change it up, making my own. Sometimes I juice, and sometimes I make smoothies, and I try to use as many power foods as possible.

Today, I made a smoothie, and it was pretty good, so I thought I’d share. In a blender, liquify about 3 big handfuls of spinach. You may need to add a little water to help it out. Once it’s reached a thick, but smooth consistency, add in two scoops of chocolate protein powder of your choice (I use Cytosport) and one teaspoon of almond butter. Try to pick a pretty pure almond butter. I use Trader Joe’s roasted almond butter, which is just blended up roasted almonds. It’s a little bland on its own, but it works in this. Combine all ingredients in the blender. Add in a handful of ice and pulse the blender on crush a few times, and that’s it – a delicious superfood smoothie with loads of protein. Incidentally, the spinach flavor is almost entirely masked by the other ingredients.

Try it if you want to look this good after a workout!

This entry was posted in Power Foods, Smoothies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

