Veggie Wraps + Mustard Vinaigrette = Bullocks to Bread

I love bread in all its forms, but as we know, I am in a constant state of trying to eat healthy. I know bread is not going to leave my diet anytime soon, and vegan baking has helped me realize healthier ways to keep it in my daily eats, but if I can pull it out somewhere during my day that means I can eat it at some other point, so I built these veggie lettuce wraps, which are low calorie and low carb.

Making any kind of lettuce wrap is simple. I essentially make a salad without lettuce in it and then spoon it in. The outer leaves of romaine work fabulously because they’re already perfectly curved to collect the inner workings. These wraps are not vegan because I added some cheddar, but that can easily be removed and replaced with vegan cheese, nut cheese, or even grilled tofu for a yummy vegan lunch.

I started with 12 halved grapes and started adding into a small bowl from there. To the grapes went a small handful of cheddar chunks, a tablespoon of chopped walnuts, one very small diced tomato, half an avocado, chopped, and about 1/3 cup thawed peas and corn. Add salt and pepper to taste. Apples, grated carrots, and whatever else tastes good to you would be delicious in something like this, too.

In another small bowl, I put equal parts white wine vinegar, coarse-grain mustard, and agave nectar. I did about two teaspoons each (give or take, this is not an exact science – there was a little more vinegar and agave, a little less mustard). Use a fork to mix the dressing, pour into the salad, and toss to evenly coat. Spoon into your lettuce cups, and enjoy.

Note: I’m generally only making lunch for myself, so I portion out ingredients for the grand party of one! Adjust according to your needs :).

This entry was posted in Healthy, Homemade, Lunch, Wraps and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Veggie Wraps + Mustard Vinaigrette = Bullocks to Bread

  1. William says:

    I agree with you, Barb, giving up bread entirely just isn’t going to happen for me either. But, having healthy alternatives periodically is a great thing! I like this, well done 🙂

Leave a Reply

