Salad + Grill = Elevated Eats

I eat a lot of salads. Not because I’m a vegetarian and woe is me, I can’t find anything to eat (clearly, not true), but it’s because I really enjoy salads. As is the case with any dish though (except pizza), when one eats it too often, it can get boring, so I work on amping up my salads, so they maintain their healthy notes while changing enough to keep the dinner table interesting.

One quick way to pump up the flavor without adding a single calorie? Grill it! Incidentally, this is also a great way to get rid of some of the veggies in your fridge that are just barely hanging in there. And double incidentally, salads are also great for when you are running low on food and haven’t had a chance to get to the grocery store because you really can put anything in them…not that I was trying to work around all those circumstances or anything, not at all…

Last night I made a regular salad, with raw lettuce, tomato, apple (my mom’s been doing it since we were kids), and broccoli. In an effort to make it better, I busted out my teeny tiny stovetop grill and grabbed some corn, scallions, and mushrooms, all of which either needed to get eaten or would need to be tossed by the next day or so. I simply stuck the corn, scallions, and mushrooms (a few items at a time) on the grill, allowing marks to show and then added them to my salad. I grilled up some tofu I had marinated in lemon juice, water, and garlic as well, and boom, a beautiful, hearty salad was born. In truth, I could have grilled all the ingredients – lettuce, tomato, everything – grilling just pulls the flavor out and makes almost anything scrumptious! I topped my salad with Trader Joe’s delicious and almost never available Reduced Fat Cilantro Salad Dressing (so good – I bought a few bottles this time).

The “garnish” you see there is a baked barbecue potato chip, which I will happily post the recipe for once I work out all the quirks (that one looks good ;)).

This entry was posted in Dinner, Grilled, Healthy, Salad and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

