Lemon + Berries + Take Two = Sorta Sorbet

Take two because my first try was a textural failure, but more on that later. Yesterday, my friend, Annie, posted a link to a vegan chocolate-banana ice cream, so (of course) I checked it out on The Bear and the Blackberry blog. I had no bananas, but the concept seemed simple enough that I could adjust according to what I did have, and ultimately, it turned out, but not without a little trial and error first.

The recipe calls for hemp protein powder, and I had some soy protein isolate. From what I can tell, the protein was essentially added just to pump up the nutritional value. I dropped in what seemed like an appropriate amount to my attempt at mango berry ice cream, but it entirely destroyed the texture, so I would admonish adders to go a little at a time or not at all to prevent chalkiness.

My last mango down and one miserable attempt to rescue the original ice cream later, I restarted, this time going for a refreshing lemon berry ice cream – a far more successful endeavor. It came out with a sorbet-like texture, despite not being water-based – definitely more so than an ice cream texture; although, it was still creamy.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup blackberries (frozen)
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • zest of 1 lemon
  • 2 tbsp agave nectar
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • pinch of sea salt

Serves 2 – 4 people, depending on how much each person gets 😉

Directions

Get those berries in the freezer at least a few hours before your start putting this together. You want them to be really frozen.

In a blender, add the zest, lemon juice, agave nectar, salt, and a little bit of the almond milk. Pulse to blend. Slowly add in the fruit, alternating between berries and milk.  Blend until smooth. This may take a while to break down the frozen fruits. If you can get that smooth consistency without adding all the milk, that would be ideal, but in my blender, I needed it.

Once everything is blended together, place in a sealable container and put it in the freezer. Let set for at least a few hours – mine set overnight. Once your ice cream is frozen, break up a little with a knife and put back in the blender, just long enough to resurrect it’s creamy texture, scoop out and serve (quickly – it melts fast).

I topped mine with a few roughly chopped candied and salted almonds. There are a few ways to candy nuts, but I did it using a stovetop. 1 tbsp turbinado sugar, 1.5 tbsp water, bring to a boil, and let reduce. When your liquid is down by about half, add approximately a 1/2 cup of chopped almonds, coat, let sit in the pot for a few minutes, turning to keep from burning. When they turn a caramel color, drop the almonds onto wax paper, lightly sprinkle with salt, and let cool completely. Break up, and add to a myriad of meals.

My favorite part about this dish is the color. The flavor is bright and cool, but a little tart (okay with me). You can easily add more sweeteners if you want. I would love to do this ice cream with a little lemon cookie on the side or you could even serve it with brunch. I’m definitely excited to try different concoctions, and next time I have bananas in the house, the original inspiration is getting made!

This entry was posted in Dessert, Healthy, Homemade, Ice Cream, Vegan and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Lemon + Berries + Take Two = Sorta Sorbet

  1. Gorgeous, Barbie! Wow. My choco-banana “ice cream” wasn’t such a smashing success…It came out kind of, well, slimy. Don’t get me wrong, I ate it! But I think I need to try again.

    • bar says:

      Yeah, I definitely messed mine up the first time, and I still think there’s room for improvement here. I rushed to take the picture before the whole thing melted. I think there must be a way to firm it up, maybe play with the liquid to solid ratio, or just put it back in the freezer after scooping.

    • bar says:

      P.S. I would have eaten it, too 😉

  2. What’s up to every single one, it’s actually a good for me
    to pay a quick visit this site, it includes priceless Information.

  3. These are genuinely impressive ideas in concerning blogging.
    You have touched some pleasant things here. Any way keep
    up wrinting.

  4. This piece of writing will help the internet users for setting up new webpage or even
    a blog from start to end.

  5. test.com says:

    Aw, this was a very good post. Finding the time and actual effort to make a really good article…
    but what can I say… I put things off a lot and
    never manage to get nearly anything done.

  6. My partner and I stumbled over here by a different page and thought I may
    ass well check things out. I like what I seee sso i am just
    following you. Look fprward to exploring your weeb page again.

  7. My relatives all the time say that I am killing my time here at web,
    however I know I am getting know-how every day by reading thes nice articles or reviews.

  8. This post provides clear idea in support of the new visitors of blogging, that really how to do blogging.

  9. I’ve been exploring for a bit for any high quality articles or weblog posts on this sort of area .
    Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this website.
    Reading this info So i am satisfied to express that I have a very excellent uncanny feeling
    I came upon just what I needed. I most certainly will make sure to do
    not fail to remember this web site and provides it a
    look on a continuing basis.

  10. What’s up, of course this post is actually good and I
    have learned lot of things from it regarding blogging.
    thanks.

  11. If you are going for best contents like myself, just go to see this site all the time since it presents quality contents, thanks

Leave a Reply

