Baked Sweet Potato Chips + Guilt Free = Approved Addiction

Let’s just keep things honest and above board – I really like junk food, a lot. I like chips and candy and donuts and french fries and ice cream and…junk. Processed used to mean nothing to me. I could never say no to a Hostess cupcake, and I never met a tator tot I didn’t like. Unfortunately, all that food does not have the same love for me that I offered it for many years, so like all bad relationships, we had to break up, but that doesn’t mean I stopped wanting crunchy salty snacks or sweets, so I just have had to find ways around their evil agendas. Baked or dehydrated fruit and vegetable chips are fantastic for this. Here’s a finally successful go at sweet potato chips.

Ingredients

  • 1 sweet potato, thinly sliced (mine were about 1/8 inch thick)
  • cooking spray
  • seasoned salt

Directions
Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees. Clean and slice your sweet potato. I used my food processor, but you certainly don’t have to have one of those. Just slice thin and do your best to make sure all the slices are the same width so they cook evenly. Lightly spray two baking sheets. Arrange chips on the sheets and sprinkle with some seasoned salt. You can put them quite close together, almost touching even, because they will shrink up a bit.

Put them in the oven for about 20 – 25 minutes. They should bubble a little, deepen in color, and brown on the edges. If they turn entirely brown, you’ve gone too far. You could stop here, but I was going for crispy (not burnt – it can get pretty close). I flip them over and give them 7-10 more minutes, keeping an eye on them. Take the chips out, let cool, and enjoy. Some may still have a slight chew in the middle, but short of deep frying them, I can’t seem to get around that, and I kind of like it here and there.

Mega-simple, sweet, salty, and crunchy (hello!), and sweet potatoes are totally rich in vitamins, so this is a complete junk food alternative that doesn’t leave you bitterly eating them as you wish for Doritos.

This entry was posted in Appetizers, Comfort Food, Healthy, Snacks and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

