Ginger Garlic Tofu + Soy Yogurt = What(?!) & Whoa(!!)

There are certain dairy products I really love, and most of them have the words cream and cheese in their title, ice cream…whipped cream…butter cream…every cheese known to man…cream cheese (come on – that’s not even fair!). There is something else you should know – I love tacos and burritos and tamales and enchiladas and essentially all Mexican food. I live about 25 minutes from Mexico, so as one might imagine, it’s readily available, pretty much on every corner. In cahoots with pizza, it’s the best worst food on earth, but as one might also imagine, if I’m not eating dairy, I’m also not eating taco shop food, so what to do.

Here is something wonderful I learned: when your body gets used to hyper healthy food, hyper healthy food starts to taste fantastic and you get to savor real flavors, which means horribly delicious foods are not as missed. Also, substitutions are not as difficult to find as I thought they would be. In the past, if I made tacos and there was no sour cream, I would drive to the store and get some before I would go on eating, so it would be a sad day for me if I could not find some reasonably priced sour cream substitution. To that, I say, “Thank you plain soy yogurt for allowing me to go on living.” No lie – it kind of tastes like sour cream!

I threw some on my taco salad, along with tofu I marinated in…

Ingredients – Marinade

  • 1 tsp freshly grated ginger
  • 1 clove chopped garlic
  • 1 cup vegetable stock
  • 2 tbsp agave nectar
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp corn starch

Directions
Put all the ingredients together in a saucepan and whisk together, breaking up the corn starch. Boil to meld the ingredients and then let simmer down, thicken, and cool. Cover cubed tofu with this marinade and let sit in the fridge for a couple hours before grilling or pan frying (which is what I did, without the oil – the marinade keeps it from sticking, more or less).

With the yogurt, a little salsa, and some lime, you have all the liquid needed to keep your salad from being dry, and you have something enviable to munch on while everyone else is gorging themselves with tacos!

This entry was posted in Mexican, Salad, Substitutions and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

