Black Bean Quinoa Burger + Practice = Coming Closer

The best veggie burger I have had to date is the quinoa burger from the Burger Lounge here in San Diego. It is seriously so good, and I wish I had one right now. They put cheese in it. Those cheaters. That would be a great binding agent.

I’ve been working on perfecting my own quinoa burger for some time, and I believe I am almost there. I always eat what I make, but I have yet to get the recipe good enough to post. I have three criteria: 1. flavor, 2. texture, and 3. durability. If it tastes great, but falls apart, no good. My last batch, which I made with a little Mexican flare, were my closest yet, but the texture was still a little off. I think my ingredients were all good though, so now it’s just about adjusting the ratios. So close I can taste it…literally, and it tastes good. This isn’t over yet quinoa burger. You will be mine.

They looked all proper and whatnot. Almost like real meat. I totally thought we finally had it. Curse you perfect appearingĀ patties.

Now, the guacamole, I can vouch for – 1 avocado, 1/2 cup diced tomatoes, 1 clove of garlic, a handful of cilantro, spritz of lemon juice, few drops of Sriracha, and salt and pepper to taste. Blend in a food processor until smooth, or if you don’t have a food processor, cut the avocado into chunks and add a finely chopped clove of garlic to it. Mash the avocado with a potato masher until smoothish (who doesn’t like a little chunk?), add in everything else (chop the cilantro first), mix and done. Such a delicious topper for pretty much anything, and once I got the consistency right, I was surprised by how little the lack of sour cream I normally would have added bothered me.

You know, the trick really might just be to pat them down a little more before pan frying or grilling. They were just a touch too soft, but expect a functional recipe soon!

This entry was posted in Burgers, Californian, Dinner, Mexican, Sauces and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Black Bean Quinoa Burger + Practice = Coming Closer

  1. Eyes on the prize, Bar. You’ll get there. And then you’ll share the recipe :-),

    • bar says:

      Haha. You know what would be really smart? To just use one of the million quinoa and black bean recipes available online, but where’s the fun in that?

  2. Sophie33 says:

    Bar, your quinoa burgers do look oustandingly tasty!

Leave a Reply

