Tempeh Bacon + Basil Spread = Wicked Wraps

I had my first tempeh bacon experience about a month ago at True Food in San Diego. I wrote about its glory here. It was a salivating happiness. In my current cash-strapped state, tempeh bacon would not be something I would purchase for myself, but my mom, who is probably the best person I know, bought me some, in addition to some other specialty foods I had that spoiled in San Diego’s recent heat wave. I could go on and on in a tearful gush of how grateful I am to her for helping me stick to my food commitments, but I’ll save that for another time and leave it at, “Mom, I love you.”

So! I have some tempeh bacon! The directions of the box say to fry it, but I didn’t want to do that, so instead I placed four slices on a foil lined baking sheet and baked them at 400 degrees for 5-6 minutes on one side and 5-6 on the other. The retained all their mapley bacony goodness, but I didn’t have to add the fat. Thumbs up.

I prepped all my other ingredients – couple thick tomato slices, some thinly sliced red onion and cucumber, and a little handful of alfalfa sprouts. I piled them up on doubled up romaine leaves, topped with the tempeh bacon and made my spread, which I am calling a spread because I think it would be awesome on a sandwich, but let’s be honest, in this case, it’s kind of more of a sauce or even dressing :P. I’m still calling it a spread.

Ingredients

Basil Spread

  • 1/8 cup plain soy yogurt
  • 1 cup fresh basil leaves
  • 1/2 teaspoon of lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon of agave nectar
  • 1 tablespoon chia seeds
  • pinch of salt and pepper

Directions

Everything goes into the blender, except the chia seeds and mixes until smooth. I add the chia seeds in once I pour it into a jar for two reasons. 1. I like each seed to stay whole, and 2. They seem to stay behind in the blender when I pour the mixture out, and chia seeds are expensive, so I want to make sure I get them all. Once the chia seeds hang out in the spread for a bit, it thickens up to a much more spread-like consistency.

This was a surprisingly mild topper – just very cool and fresh, and could be used on a variety of dishes – sandwiches, pasta, quinoa or cous cous salad – totally versatile and very yummy.

This entry was posted in Dressing, Healthy, Lunch, Sauces, Vegan, Wraps and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tempeh Bacon + Basil Spread = Wicked Wraps

  1. Sophie33 says:

    MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM! 🙂

  2. Matt says:

    Sorry, but you got a collective “eww” from 4 out of 4 people in this house when we saw that “bacon”. Katerina said it looked like a gross granola bar.

  3. Matt says:

    But the basil spread look alright.

Leave a Reply

