Coconut + Citrus = Back on Blog

If the blog had been blocked before, consider it back now. Last night was the first time in a month I had time to get creative in the kitchen, and my body appreciated it. To me, eating a plant-based diet is only easy if you are down for making your own food, which I am, but it has been a pain with strapped time. I’ve been doing a lot of pre-made salads, pita and hummus, pieces of fruit on the go, but that has been getting a little boring. I’ve been craving a punch of creativity, so last night, while still on short time, I made a quick and easy tofu stir fry with brown rice.

I love simple food just as much as I love complex food. How awesome is it when you can build a somewhat complex flavor with simple ingredients? The breakdown:

Ingredients

  • 1 Valencia orange
  • 1 small lemon or half a large lemon
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 large garlic clove, minced
  • handful of firm tofu cubes
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 2 cups veggies of choice, chopped (I did asparagus, carrots, zucchini, and grape tomatoes (fruit, vegetable…I know…))
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Directions

If solid, let the coconut oil melt in a saucepan. Once melted, add the juice of the orange and lemon, the soy sauce, and the garlic powder into the saucepan. Give a quick mix. With the stovetop on medium high heat, add the minced garlic and let the flavors seep for a minute. Put the tofu cubes in and let them pan fry until the edges are golden. Flip the tofu and add in the asparagus and carrots. Let them soften slightly before throwing in the zucchini and grape tomatoes. Toss everything in the light sauce. Add salt and pepper to taste. I wait for at least one tomato to break open, and then I pull the saucepan off the heat. Lay stir fry on top of a bed of rice and enjoy a ridiculously easy dish.

I don’t know how other people eat, but for me, this was one serving.

This entry was posted in Dinner, Healthy, Stir Fries, Vegan and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Coconut + Citrus = Back on Blog

  1. You’ve got a knack, girl!! Good to see you back in the kitchen.

  2. William says:

    This sounds great, Barbie!

Leave a Reply

