Raw Almond Coconut Energy Balls + Hunger = Snacks for Stamina

I’m sure I’ve mentioned it before, but I’m not a morning person…whatsoever. I always wished I was, but alas, all my efforts to be so have never worked out. Over the summer I made these peanut butter energy balls that I’ve been meaning to 1. make again and 2. post about, and neither has happened; however, I realized I haven’t been eating breakfast or much at all during the day because of that not-a-morning-personitis, which means I am starving when I leave work, which means I am much more likely to make poor food choices, so the other night I decided to get on it. I changed it up to a slightly healthier version by using almond butter, but the results are still delicious and give me a good amount of protein to help actually fill me up. Plus, they’re perfect for on-the-go breakfasts, a snack during the day, or a pre/post-workout bite.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup roughly chopped raw almonds
  • 1 cup almond butter (I used salted, but not roasted)
  • 1/2 cup coconut flakes
  • 1/4 cup flaxseed meal
  • 1/4 cup chia seeds
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1 tbsp agave nectar*
  • 1 smashed banana, the riper, the better

*Give your mix a taste before adding. I needed a bit ore sweetness, but you may not. In fact, this may make it too sweet for you, depending on the peanut or almond butter you are using.

Note: I have also added soft and smashed chickpeas to the mix, which adds even more protein and tastes really good. I actually just forgot this time to do so.

Directions

Put everything in a bowl and mix using a handheld electric mixer. Form into 1 – 1.5 inch balls. Place on a plate and put in the freezer to help form. Once hard, you can remove the balls from the plate (you might need to pry them off) and store in a container in the freezer. When you take them out, they only need about one minute to soften enough to eat.

Makes about 14 balls

Don’t you just love mega-healthy homemade pop’em snacks? I’ve been so happy every morning that I can just grab and go because in addition to not being a morning person, I tend to be a tad unpunctual. As I am literally running out the door, I grab an apple, throw a couple balls onto a paper towel, and by the time I’m in my car, they are ready to eat.

Word of warning to my braces-wearing friends – those raw chia seeds will get stuck in your metal, so I would either eliminate or make sure you have a toothbrush ;).

This entry was posted in Breakfast/Brunch, Energy, Healthy, Power Food, Raw, Snacks, Uncategorized, Vegan and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Raw Almond Coconut Energy Balls + Hunger = Snacks for Stamina

  1. They look chewy and gooey – like caramels! I’m posting something similar soon – guess we’re on the same wavelength: again!

    • bar says:

      Always girlfriend! Can’t wait to see what you have!

      Yeah, they’re nice and chewy. Freezing them helps minimize the goo, which I love, but it is a little difficult when doing things like driving ;).

  2. oooh, they look amazeballs. šŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: VeganMoFo: Cocoa PB Balls « anunrefinedvegan

Leave a Reply

