Pasta Night + Carb Dread = Asparagus Alternate

Ahhhh, it’s so difficult to blog when I’m in school, so I’m really looking forward to doing some cooking over break and catching up with all my blogging buddies. I’m sure I’ve been missing out on endlessly delicious foods. Here’s a quickie to get me back in the swing.

Yesterday, I made a spaghetti sauce. One of those thick, silky, all day on the stovetop sauces, but I’ve been getting really into running lately, and I’ve been eating awesomely, even through the holidays, so the thought of jacking up the program with some comforting, satisfying spaghetti, while tempting, wasn’t sitting well. A common substitute is zucchini, but I didn’t have any, so rummaging through the fridge, I found a big bag of asparagus. Boom. Done.

After dropping off the bottoms, I sliced each spear into quarters and boiled for about eight minutes in salted water.

IMG_5258

They still had the tiniest of a bite, but were wonderfully limp enough to slightly mimic pasta. You could also slice them thinner for a more noodle-like look and feel (if you have the patience for that kind of cutting). Served up with my marinara and a side salad, I really didn’t feel like I missed out at all and didn’t have any pasta pounds in the end.

IMG_0563

IMG_0564

This entry was posted in Comfort Food, Cooking, Dinner, Healthy, Pasta, Substitutions, Vegan and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pasta Night + Carb Dread = Asparagus Alternate

Leave a Reply

